Genova

Genova was the first stop on the cruise.  I took an excursion to Genova, Portofino, Rapallo and Santa Margherita… the last being the birthplace of pizza as we know it today.  A chef wanted to impress the first queen of a unified Italy, so he made a pie with white Mozzarella cheese, red tomato sauce, and Green basil.  Stew the recipe for 150 years, and a Pizza Hut will sprout on every corner.

As the tour boat was pulling up to the dock at Portofino, photo alarm bells were going off in my head.  As of writing this, I still haven’t googled for it, but I know there is a famous picture taken from about this angle in Portofino.  the little green, white, and red boat center frame was what set the clanging off in my head.  I’m sure the professional had much time to ponder lighting and angles before he took his pictures.  Alas, I had a tourist’s moment on the dock before the guide hustled us off to our first destination… and empty square in a construction zone “too bad you have all come so late in the tourist season.”  hehe

At the top of the hill above Portofino, there is a small chapel with a graveyard behind it.  There are beautiful sculptures and a panoramic view of the harbor.  I lingered a bit too long up there so that when I finally made it back to the pier, everyone was aboard except me.  So ended my hour in Portofino.

Google Map

Leave a Reply

