Hubble Repair Mission

Interactive NASA website for sts-125 mission to Hubble

I’ve always wanted to get a telescope that I could take pictures through.  Unfortunately, money and interest have not intersected properly yet.  So, I have to picture space vicariously through telescopes like Hubble.

Hubble telescope home page

NASA Hubble Image Gallery

Hubble gets amazing pictures… they changed the world.  Hubble carries on in the imagination like Apollo 8’s Earthrise picture.  I can remember the impact that Hubble’s pictures first had on me, because I feel the same way every time I see them.  I mean, that’s a picture of an explosion bigger than our whole solar system.  Cool!

The Science Channel is documenting the last planned servicing mission to Hubble.  In 5-10 years, when Hubble needs another tuneup, it will be guided into the ocean instead.  An ungraceful end for a marvelous instrument.  Hubble is the flagship telescope for the golden age of astronomy.  We’re learning more about the Universe, at a faster rate, than any other time in our history.

I saw a shuttle launch “Live” for the first time in a long time, too.  Nowadays, DVRing counts as live, right?  A million miles away from wheeling a grainy TV into a 6th grade classroom to watch the first launch.  Just like today’s telescopes are very different from Hubble’s generation.  Today’s telescopes cost less than a Hubble Service mission.  instead of focusing so closely on a multi function telescope, several single purpose telescopes will replace it in orbit.  It may herald the end of the Golden Age.  Hubble is franchising the imagination business 🙂

2 Responses to “Hubble Repair Mission”

  1. branwynne77 Says:

    Space is so lovely! I love all the beautiful cosmic gems laid out for me on the velvet cloth of the universe.

  2. Manuel Says:

    The Hubble is still up there? I had no clue…


Leave a Reply

