National Geographic

I took this picture on the Lehigh Valley Trail, a converted railroad right of way. the honey bees were swarming the bush, but didn’t seem to mind my intrusion at all. They scattered briefly when I set up my tripod in the middle of their bush, but quickly went back to work. At first, I tried to follow individual bees, but eventually decided to pre focus on a flower and wait for a customer to come by.

I came across a site at National Geographic that accepts amateur photographs. An editor picks twelve per day to post on their site, and two of those get published in the magazine.  The “Your Shot” page also has some amazing photography on it.

2 Responses to “National Geographic”

  1. Nicola Says:

    I love things like that – they give us amateurs hope. One of my butterfly shots was accepted by the Butterfly conservation site last year 🙂 Very rewarding.

  2. Manuel Says:

    Awesome shot! I need a lens that can get me that close!


Leave a Reply

