Penn Dixie Fossils

 Penn dixie is an interesting site for fossil collecting.  Most of the fossils are in the North end of the quarry.  Under a layer of gravel are the shale layers.  Each layer has different fossils.  I’m still clumsy enough at collecting that I can’t easily identify the layer I’m prying up.

 

 I only searched for an hour or so, but I found a couple new fossils.  Penn Dixie charges $6 for access to the site, and lets you take home anything you find.  I saw more than one fellow hauling out a head sized rock.  I didn’t bring a bag to carry my loot, so I was restricted to what would fit into the back pocket of my camera bag.

My Fossil Photo Set

3 Responses to “Penn Dixie Fossils”

  1. jackalope Says:

    Did I ever tell you that when I lived in Rockland County, NY we found lots of arrowheads on our property? I know, they’re not fossils, but I’m just sayin’…

  2. waltzingaustralia Says:

    Wow. What a fabulous site. I didn’t know there was anywhere in the U.S. one could find such fossils (that is, that would allow amateurs in — I realize there are lots of protected sites where the pros hang out). Looks like a place worth planning a trip.

  3. Nicola Says:

    So nice somewhere allows you to take home your finds – great for getting kids interested.


Leave a Reply

