Penn Dixie Earth Science Day

 I went to the Penn Dixie paleontological and Outdoor education center today.  The center was holding a science day exhibition today.  they had a tent with vendors and local clubs.  After chatting with some of the nice folks in the tent, I went to the north end of the quarry and started digging.  I came away with some nice pieces, which I’ll post as soon as I can take some pictures of the haul.

 

 Here is the North field of the quarry.  there are signs describing the different strata in the area.  I started finding fossils right away.  I’ll bring a crow bar and hand sledge next time.  that will make it easier to lever sheets shale out of the holes I dig.

 

 After digging for an hour, I went over to the core drilling demonstration.  I’ve read about drilling before, but I’ve never seen the process up close.  I could easily imagine that we were wildcatters in 1930’2 Texas.  they weren’t drilling for oil, but taking a rock core from the quarry.  It was very interesting to watch.

 

 

 Penn Dixie Photo Set

Manuel posts about a different topic each Saturday.  This weeks topic is “Rock”.

Posted in Science. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Penn Dixie Earth Science Day”

  1. Manuel Says:

    Sounds like a good time. I would love to do something like that. And just to give credit where credit is due, Evil E over at Random Crap came up with the Scavenger Hunt idea.


Leave a Reply

