Days After Twilight

http://www.rochestercrit.com/

Even a couple days afterwards, I’m still thinking about the Rochester twilight Criterium last Saturday. I’d never been to a cycling race like this before. I wasn’t used to the proximity we had to the racers. Usually when I take my camera to a sporting event… baseball game, say.. I have the monopod and the long lens. I used my wide angle lens all day and never pulled anything else out of my bag. It was physical photography. Crouching and panning felt a little like playing catcher.

Check it out. I got two pan shots of the same cyclist, on the same turn. Whenever I looked up, I saw other photographers doing the same thing. Everyone was trying to get the perfect pan shot. I read on a forum today that the organizers were begging for crowd pictures and atmosphere pictures. Turns out, I should have looked up more often. It’s hard to turn away from the action, but I’ll try to keep it in mind next time.

Posted in Events. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Days After Twilight”

  1. Manuel Says:

    Those pictures are awesome man! Just awesome!

  2. Mark Says:

    Hey! Great pics of the RTC. Would you be averse to allowing our team to post some of them on our web site? We would obviously credit you for the work. Please reply via email as I’ll undoubtably forget to check back here for an answer. Thanks! Mark (ccyracing@yahoo.com, http://www.ccyracing.com)


Leave a Reply

