Road to Canandaigua

I went to the Historic Car Show in Canandaigua, NY. the show had about 50 cars in it. the cars ranged from a 1987 Jaguar XJ6 to a 1915 Model T, to the Datsun/Nissan Z series. Meticulous maintenance was on display at every step. It’s obvious that each car represents a serious investment by its owner. I had several interesting conversations with car owners. Each person has a different story, a different historical perspective.

We start at the beginning. This Model T is in terrific shape. Imagine 90 years of use. Of all the cars at the show, this one answers the question “But will it still be here 100 years from now?” Indeed, he drove it to the show. A solar panel on the back charges a battery that powers the starter motor…

A purist might say that he should crank start the car, but I like the technological symmetry. The Model T represents the beginning of the Twentieth Century like no other car. Solar energy represents the end of the twentieth century quite nicely, I think.  This was one of my favorite cars in the show.

Here’s my other favorite car at the show.   Yes, the first time I heard of one was in the Back to the Future movies, but that’s not why I like the car.  I like the Delorean for the same reason I like the Tucker.  They’re both cool looking cars with innovative designs.

 

I think they give Delorean owners tickets if they don’t carry a model of the movie car around with them at all times.  Rich has a nice car, I had fun talking with him.

Flickr Photo Set, Slideshow.

2 Responses to “Road to Canandaigua”

  1. Sonja Says:

    Speaking of Datsun Z cars, when I was 14 my whole purpose in life was to have a 240Z!


Leave a Reply

