Strawberries and Catnip

My strawberry patch is in full swing these days. The critters have already started gnawing on the one or two ripe ones. The mystery berry bush is starting to grow berries, so I’ll find out the identity of my stowaway in a couple weeks. The grape vine is having a good year. Last year wasn’t so good, so I’m glad it’s making up for it. I think I can start attaching it to the fence this year.

Raspberry? Blackberry? Who knows? I bought dormant strawberry roots and somehow they packed a berry root along with it. Either way, this is the time of year when my hands are stained red with the juices of slain strawberries!

I guess I should have known that the catnip wouldn’t stand a chance. I caught the culprit in the act. Now that he’s finished off a promising catnip crop, he’s moved on to the oregano.

The dill is starting to spread. Go dill! That’s the one I’m really looking forward to. I have a short window to get any, though. The strawberries are starting to muscle in on my little herb garden. I think I have to move the herbs to higher ground pretty soon.

 

Posted in Plants. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Strawberries and Catnip”

  1. Sonja Says:

    Does Twitch like the catnip? I couldn’t make out if that’s him in the pictures – this one looks like a tabby and I know Twitch is not one. I would imagine Twitch would be out there all day enjoying that catnip!


Leave a Reply

