Lehigh Valley Trail

Denelle and I walked a couple miles of the Lehigh Valley Trail yesterday. I aggravated a pulled muscle in my calf, so I’m sidelined today. Lehigh Valley Trail is a Linear Park. An abandoned railroad right of way was converted into a hiking and biking trail. It runs for miles through Monroe County, New York. Scattered along the trail are parking areas. One of them is just a couple miles from my house. I’d already walked a couple miles West on the trail, so we decided to walk East this time.

First, the trail passes through a hardwood swamp. Trees grow out of moss covered patches of ground. Everything is surrounded by water a few inches deep. After a mile, the path leaves the swamp behind and passes through farm fields. that’s as far as we went before we turned around.

4 Responses to “Lehigh Valley Trail”

  1. glorious Says:

    Very nice and what a good snap of the bee! Gotta admit, I haven’t seen a lot of bees around here lately.
    The caterpillar is pretty too.

  2. Nicola Says:

    Some great pictures there 🙂

  3. RubyShooZ Says:

    I’m new here – we must be neighbors sort of. I live down around Keuka lake and I’m from Rochester originally. Nice to see some photos from around there, yay!!

    Thanks for sharing them here.

  4. Sonja Says:

    If I’m not mistaken, that is the dreaded Gypsy Moth caterpillar. We had an epidemic of them in New York (Rockland County)back when I was a kid. My neighbor used to paint this sticky stuff on the trunks of certain trees so the caterpillars would get stuck in them on the way up. They used to decimate and kill trees by eating all the leaves.


Leave a Reply

