Black Creek Park

My Black Creek Park Flickr Set, Black Creek Park Website

Denelle and I went to Black Creek Park today and took the Blue Bird trail. the trail starts under high tension power lines, then crosses into a birch forest. Denelle is staying with me for a while. It’s a bit of a long story, but I have an extra bedroom and she needs a place to stay.

We thought these were Monarch Butterflies at first, but now we think they’re some kind of moth that looks like a Monarch. I pretty much got nose to nose with the second one.

Damsel Flies and Dragonflies buzzed around the trail as we walked. The Bluebird trail is circular, so it’s not hard to follow. The hardwood swamp is dominated by Birch trees. the trail is well groomed and mostly free of encroaching foliage.

4 Responses to “Black Creek Park”

  1. Manuel Says:

    I have yet to get any bugs with my camera. I would need a different lens though for something up close like you do other than my 18-55, no?

  2. Nicola Says:

    I had a go a shooting an unnamed bug the other say without much success – still having to work hard on getting that focus right.

  3. Sonja Says:

    That dragon fly looks like it’s waving semaphore flags…

  4. MrBirdNerd Says:

    The butterfly looks like it could be a Red Admiral, I saw one of these at the Lilac Festival this year. It flew up and landed on the lilac bush right in front of me.


Leave a Reply

