Dear Senators

Dear Mrs. Clinton, Mr. Schumer:

I’m writing you in the hope that you will take action concerning an issue that has divided and hurt our country.  The War in Iraq has become a touchstone of dissent and controversy for our society.  Regardless of its origins, this war is not in the national interest of the United States.  I have theories as to who benefits from a continued war in the Middle East.  I don’t feel that I need to share them with you, as you most likely Know who is benefiting from this conflict.  As your constituent, I want you to know that this conflict does not benefit me, even in the grandest notion of “Security”.  I am not alone in this sentiment.  A majority of Americans feel as I do.  The time is well past to end this war.

I see the same consequences from a US withdrawal as you do.  We will most likely face chaos in the Middle East, with an Iraqi civil war as the center piece.  Our withdrawal will result in a bloody impasse between intractable enemies.  In my opinion, that situation already exists in the Middle East.  American soldiers will not be dying to maintain that impasse, though.  Please do what you can to extricate our nation from this debacle. 

Thank You

James

2 Responses to “Dear Senators”

  1. Manuel Says:

    I agree, it has gone on too long…

  2. Sonja Says:

    Great letter! Print it out and mail it to these two. I have recently been writing letters to my representatives about several issues of concern.Will it work? I don’t know, but at least I feel like I have participated in the process.


Leave a Reply

