Fire on the Genesee

I took Amber down to Letchworth State Park to see the Fire on the Genesee Civil War Reenactment yesterday. I’ve never been to a reenactment. It was very interesting to photograph. We had to be fairly far away from the action, so I used my 70-300mm lens. I lay down under a tree to shade my lens from sun flare. The spot I chose gave me a line of sight to both sides. Amber was well and truly freaked out when they started firing the cannon, so I had to retreat to the shade of a building after a few salvos.

Dogs don’t like Mountain Howitzers and mortars.

The battle swung back and forth for almost an hour. Participating groups included: The 28th New York Infantry Regiment, the 5th Virginia, Company A, 43rd Virginia Cavalry, 17th Virginia Company A, and Independent Reenactors Association of Western New York.

Here’s a link to the photo set. Fire on the Genesee

Posted in People. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Fire on the Genesee”

  1. Manuel Says:

    They do a thing like that only a few miles from here. I need to go one year.

  2. Nicola Says:

    Amazing set of pics – looks great fun too


Leave a Reply

