God Bless the DRC

Ever since 9/11, there has been a patriotic surge in the US. People have been putting flags in front of their houses, stickers on their cars. One form of patriotism has eclipsed them all, though. The magnetic bumper ribbon. These ribbons started showing up just weeks after the attacks in New York and Washington. Every other car seems to have one or more stuck to them. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have NO beef with the sentiment. Here’s the back of my car:

Yup, that’s a flag on the back. before you get all righteous on me for driving a”Japanese” car, you should know it was designed and built in England, so take it up with the Brits…

Anyway, here’s my problem with all those ribbons:

The TV has been telling me for a few years now that I’m a traitorous, terrorist-lover because I’m a liberal. Those are the same people who don’t see the irony in buying their patriotic gear from China and sticking it on their Hummers. Globalization has made it very hard to “Buy American” anymore, so I don’t get really worked up about the origin of the things I buy. Buying an American flag from China is a little too much, though. These ribbons might as well say “God Bless the Democratic Republic of China”… and if you don’t see the irony in that, let me know, I have a magnetic ribbon I’ll send you

One Response to “God Bless the DRC”

  1. Manuel Says:

    My favorite ribbon is the one that says, “I support whatever is trendy.”

    Hmm…


Leave a Reply

