Erie Canal

This is a storm lock in Bushnell’s Basin, NY. A storm lock is used to control flood waters in the canal during storms. They operate differently from a normal lock. The storm locks simply drop into the canal to block the water. Normal locks are a little more complicated. A canal lock uses relatively small electric motor to open the gates and water intake grates. Other than that, gravity does all the work. How a canal lock works.

These two pictures are from Lock 32 in Pittsford, NY. I’ve been going to Lock 32 for years, trying to complete a seasonal set. I haven’t gotten very far. I took the fall shot back in 1992. I think the summer shot on the right stinks, so I don’t consider it part of the set. So, I have 1/4 of the set done. Come back in another 15 years and maybe I’ll have another one 🙂

I like these two pictures better, maybe I should pick a new spot to take my seasonal set from.

Posted in Places. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Erie Canal”

  1. glorious Says:

    We used to sing a song in grade school about the Erie Canal. Now I know what it looks like. Thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

