The Louvre

All right, I’m done flaming and complaining for now. I’m sure you’ve been in the same spot where the heat of your anger has to vent itself, run its course. I have other complaints, but I don’t feel the need to splay them all over my pictures. I do appreciate the beauty of the things I captured, the way I captured them. Photographically, Paris was a dream world for me. The weather was perfect the whole time. Inspiration was literally just lying on the ground waiting for me to stumble upon it. A kindergarten kid with a Brownie could have taken great pictures while I was there. For me, my art was palpable in every shutter release.

One of the things I was determined to see in Paris was I.M. Pei‘s pyramids. Pei is by far my favorite architect. I first found his work in the Wilson Commons at the University of Rochester. Much of my leisure time in college was spent watching the world pass by in this marvelous building. France was in an uproar when the design for the glass pyramids was announced. I don’t see them as a desecration of the palace. What better tribute to French history could stand in that square than the symbols of Napoleon’s military and historic reach? The modern science of Egyptology was born during Napoleon’s Egyptian campaign. I was so pleased to see that the pyramids line up perfectly with the old buildings. “Of course they do, it couldn’t be any other way” I told myself as I lined up the shot. The reflection of the new on the old took my breathe away a moment later.

As Rabelais might say, I’ve eaten the mountain and rode the comet. Voltaire might say that I’ve tended my own garden 🙂

Posted in Places. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “The Louvre”

  1. glorious Says:

    So sorry your parents almost ruined a perfect adventure. Paris looks beautiful and you took some amazing pictures. Thanks for sharing.
    Hugs

  2. Nicola Says:

    Far better pictures than mine ……….. and you had sunshine instead of pouring rain.

    Stunning.


Leave a Reply

