Video Game Heroine

Now, don’t get all Freudian on me, but I usually choose female when asked in an RPG.  It’s a long tradition in most role playing games that gender makes no difference in character development.  Besides, when most games are paused, they show a picture of your character in all that fancy armor you spent all your productive time collecting from Trolls and Goblins.  What do you think I’d rather look at?  Another guy?  Or one of those ladies that only cartoon artists can draw. 😉

I’ve had one or another Role Playing game installed on my computer for years, now.  They’ve varied from cerebral to cut throat.  I tend to like open ended games like Morrowind.  Lately, Morrowind’s successor, Oblivion, has been taking up my time.  I mostly play goody-two-shoes thief/sorcerers.  I’ve tried burly warrior types, but I feel that there’s more finesse in playing stealthy characters.

Arcanum was a staple of mine for several years.  It focuses on the clash between magic and technology.  You can focus your precious level up points into technology schematics or magic spells.  I could never be a magician.  My favorite character was a dwarven technologist.  Arcanum has a marvelous feeling of a patent medicine commercial.  Set in the 19th century, it’s the beginning of the Industrial Revolution.  It takes a Victorian imagination to dream up the hand cannon in this game. In fact, I’m going to dust off the CD and see if it runs under XP 😉

3 Responses to “Video Game Heroine”

  1. Manuel Says:

    I just bought Oblivion IV for my PS3. Can’t wait to play it!

  2. Nicola Says:

    Arcarnum sounds cool ………………….

  3. Randi Says:

    Too bad you don’t play WoW. You could join me in the never ending battle against the horde!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

