Video Game Hero

Just as you are a great singer in the shower, I am an occasional hero on my computer. Over the years, I’ve conquered the galaxy, saved the princess, defeated the Nazis, driven the greatest cars ever built, and many other feats too numerous to list.

I started my career more than 20 years ago. There are some pre-history games that I played on the Apple IIe, but my first real gaming machine was a mac SE/30. From that point back in college to now, I’ve had a (mostly) reliable computer nearby. The games that are loaded on my computer have changed over the years. I’ve had games that run like hot streaks in my life. I can’t put them down for 6 or 8 weeks, then I almost forget they existed at all. Others linger on my hard drive, suspended until I find them interesting again. Diablo II is one of those games. I can’t really say I still play Diablo II. I’ve pulled it out several times, but I just can’t get into it like I used to. I’m waiting for the next game in the 3rd person action genre to grab my attention.

I like complicated games. Long technology trees like Civilization or Galactic Civilizations appeal to me.  Games like Silent Storm round out my favorite turn based games.

You and I may think of different things when I say first person shooter.   Most people think of Wolfenstien or Doom, but I think of Marathon, and even more of the sequel, Marathon II: Durandal.  Even today, years after my last battle against the Pfhor, I can still navigate most of the levels in my mind.  My version of calculating Pi out to 100 place 😉

I’ll save my favorite modern games for another post.

2 Responses to “Video Game Hero”

  1. Nicola Says:

    Diablo and Civ – rock !

  2. Manuel Says:

    My favorite 1st person is of course Resistance: Fall of Man!!


Leave a Reply

