Watching Patches Install

Well, the good news was that my new SATA hard drive and DVD_RAM/Lightscribe drive showed up.  So, I’m reinstalling from scratch.   Computers have a way of reflecting their owners like a car does.  you have the people who “drive” efficient computers, muscle computers.  I use one of those Frankenstein computers that takes a lot of maintenance to keep going.  yes, my video card is held in place with a zip tie, the DVD burner relies on duct tape, and I can’t close the lid.  I’m always having to fix something.  It’s fast, though, and to date, I’ve invested $400 in it.

It’s kind of a perfect storm of computer stuff for me this weekend.  I started out last week updating the district’s servers for the DST time change this weekend.

Application servers that use Java are the most vulnerable.  I was updating the server that controls all the district’s time clocks.  328 people punch clocks in the district.  Monday’s going to be a busy day, I’m guessing.  Oh, well.

2 Responses to “Watching Patches Install”

  1. jackalope Says:

    Those innards remind me of my days as a Xerox technician, traveling about LA and Orange counties in my little blue and wood sided Ford Fairmont (company car). I fixed the first Xerox word processors that came out in the late 1970’s. It was a great job, I miss it.

  2. Nicola Says:

    Shudders at the thought of computer insides!


Leave a Reply

