Redux


When I rolled into Taughannock Falls this last time, it was two hours before sunset. The original idea was to get there just at sunset for a dramatic, chromatic, waterfall picture. I wasn’t inclined to wait two hours for sunset, so I shot some flare shots of the falls. I was experimenting with flare pictures a couple months ago, so I had some ideas. I still like the night picture better, but the flare is a neat effect. These are uncropped, uncleaned.

When I drive on route 89 along Cayuga Lake, I look for a couple things. this statue is one of them. I’m always forgetting exactly where it is along the route. I’ve driven by it a couple times. It took 5 minutes to convince myself to go back for the sunset picture. I had to drive back five miles, hoping the sun wouldn’t beat me there. I made it just in time. I took the daytime picture on my last trip down there. It gives a better look at the statue itself.

3 Responses to “Redux”

  1. glorious Says:

    I love that night waterfall shot!

  2. Sonja Says:

    If only you had some shots of kitchen sink waterfalls. I could have used that for my blog today…

  3. Nicola Says:

    That night picture of the waterfall is one of my favourite shots.

    I also love the statue at sunset.


Leave a Reply

