Mantis

I found this fellow over at Lollypop farm one Sunday. I took it home for a couple photos, then released it in my strawberry patch. I like Preying Manti (?). This fearsome little predator is completely harmless to humans. It’s amazing to me that a voracious killer will sit so peacefully on my hand and never mistake me for an enemy or food. that makes it smarter than my cat in at least one way. that little snit bit me tonight. I was scratching her behind the ears… just the way she likes… when she turns around in one of those bipolar cat things and chomps on my finger. If Preying Manitses (?) were just a little cuter…

5 Responses to “Mantis”

  1. glorious Says:

    We like the Manti (?) too.

  2. Suresh Gundappa Says:

    great shots! and lovely focus and clarity!

  3. Sonja Says:

    Yes, if you look at its face magnified it is very frightening looking! When I lived in New York (Rockland County) they were protected by law. Is this still the case in NY State?

  4. Manuel Says:

    My wife is scared to death of the praying mantis.


Leave a Reply

