Written in Stone

I went back to the abandoned railroad cut in East Bethany today. The recent rains opened up some new layers of rock.  I had a new tool, too.  I bought an Estwing 20 oz. rock hammer last week, so I wasn’t restricted to surface fossils this time.  I opened a couple new holes, but I found this fossil by picking through someone else’s hole.

 
Two sides of the same fossil.  This is a positive fossil, sticking out of the rock.  The photos may make it look like a negative, though.

A modern resident of the cut.  I made sure this shell was unoccupied before I pocketed it.

Posted in Science. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Written in Stone”

  1. Nicola Says:

    Great pics – especially the snail shell


Leave a Reply

