Fossil Hunting

Mr. Lipman over at the Ninth Grade Academy told me about a cool fossil hunting site last week. So, dog in tow, I set out to find some history. After 5 wrong turns, I finally made it to the Railroad cut in Bethany. Amber and I went West, following the abandoned railroad bed for more than a mile.


We finally turned around. I was convinced that all the articles I’d seen online were wrong. World famous strata my eye. I did hear a Mule Deer looking for a date. About ten minutes later, we spooked something big next to the path. I didn’t get a good look at it, but it sounded about deer sized as it crashed through the thick brush.


When we got back to the car, I looked East. About 100 yards away, was the cut that Mr. Lipman had described. It was there alright, I’d just gone the wrong way. Oh, well. I blame the dog. After scrabbling up and down for a half hour, I had two bellows pockets and a shirt pocket full or rocks. The top picture is the best of the lot.

2 Responses to “Fossil Hunting”

  1. jackalope Says:

    When I lived in New York, we found lots of Indian arrowheads on our property. Not the same as fossils, I know, but I had to put in my 2 cents.
    You sure have a lot of beautiful scenery up there.

  2. Nicola Says:

    fascinating fossils and gorgeous trees ……..


Leave a Reply

