Rule of Thirds

Photography doesn’t have “rules” per se. There are some suggestions, though. On composition, it’s generally accepted that a photo should not divide in the middle of the frame. Better to put the horizon one third from the bottom or the top. The exception is when you have a perfectly mirrored lake and sky. Then the best shot might be to split it right down the middle. The rule of thirds derives from the golden proportion. 1:1.618 is the proportion of Nautilus shells, the human hand… and great photography (supposedly) http://goldennumber.net/ It’s hard to know when to break the rules. I try to keep the golden proportion in my mind when I’m taking pictures, but sometimes, the good shot breaks the rules.

4 Responses to “Rule of Thirds”

  1. glorious Says:

    I know nothing about photography but I know when a picture takes my breath away.
    We are so blessed with a beautiful world and with people like you who see it and share it. Thank you. 🙂

  2. Nicola Says:

    OMG – more rules !

    I know what I like , and boths those are great pictures ……

    ( From the exception that breaks most of the rules )

  3. Manuel Says:

    Hmm…I had no idea about that spliting down the middle rule. Makes sense tough. Beautiful pictures…

  4. Some Rules « Night Panther Says:

    […] rules. Not so much rules, as things that I keep in mind when I take pictures.  Things like the Rule of Thirds, lighting, etc.  So, in no particular order, here are some […]


Leave a Reply

