The Wall

I found myself at a new stage of sorts, so I decided to revisit a cornerstone of my past. When I’ve found myself getting depressed or frustrated, Pink Floyd’s The Wall has been a piece of music that I’ve gravitated to over and over again. Perhaps you’re thinking that it’s a depressing piece of music, and you’re right. I can’t explain why these two cassettes, and later CDs, DVDs have had such a grip on me. If you listen to “Mother” from the first side, you’ll know more about me than perhaps, I’d like.

It’s not just the images of loss or seclusion that reach me. I listen to all kinds of music. Bruce Hornsby or The Police could be playing just as easily as Hey You. The thing that makes The Wall such a recurring album for me is that I never lose connection with the music, each song is as eloquent and personal as the last.

The Greeks believed in several kinds of theatre. Comedy, Drama, and Tragedy were all part of the regular fare. They coined the term “Catharsis”. It’s the release after an especially intense emotional experience. Whole theatres would weep openly at the end of a tragedy. The personal journey of the author was shared by the community.

The Wall didn’t always drive me deeper into malaise. Many times, it helped tremendously.  As I grew older, I learned when to play it, and when to put it away. I pulled it out this morning, curious. I’ve only played it once in the past year. I felt the flutter in the middle of the first CD, but then, nothing. It’s music for me, perhaps for the first time.

Regatta De Blanc came on the Ipod next, and I’ve let it keep playing. I’m not walking on the Moon, but I got my message in a bottle;)

2 Responses to “The Wall”

  1. Sonja Says:

    I love that album too. I really like that very short song “Vera” on the second side. Apparently Vera Lynn was a British singer during WWII.

    I used to listen to this tape a lot when I was doing service calls for Xerox. I was nineteen and had a lot of responsibilities. This album made me look at the depressive parts of my life, but was somehow soothing as well.

  2. Nicola Says:

    I too retreat into music – most often from the past. I like the parallel you draw with Greek literature and the use of the word catharsis. Quite often there are milestone albums which reflect *passages in my life* – I guess we sometimes need to revist to remember the lessons, or gain the comfort again.


Leave a Reply

