Tying a Monkeys Fist

I noticed that people were getting to this post by searching Google about tying a Monkey’s Fist.   So, I decided to tie one and take pictures.  I’m no hand model, but the knot turned out pretty well. Here is the Flickr set with instructions

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jheaneyphotos/sets/72157627804545120/

Tags: ,

One Response to “Tying a Monkeys Fist”

  1. Bryan Says:

    Excellent work putting these instructions together. Some of my time spent in the (US)Navy was instructing the “rookies” on how to tie the Monkey’s Fist for our heaving lines. I can’t count how many times I’ve tied that knot, so I didn’t think I’d ever forget it. That was 15+ years ago. Now I’m the Scoutmaster for my son’s (Sea Scout) troop, and was quite embaressed to discover after bragging to the boys that I could teach them how to tie a monkey’s fist that I had totally forgotten how to do it. Your instructions and photos were excellent. Thanks for saving me on that one.


Leave a Reply

