“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”


A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

I was wondering how to start, and this quote from Confucius popped into my head. The sentiment is appropriate for today. After all, many of us will be beginning long journeys in the next day or two. After I get back , I’ll still have to confront this blog. I’m a fitful writer, so don’t be surprised if I post sporadically. I’m interested in the idea of blogging, though.

I just had to add “blog” and “blogging” to my Word dictionary 🙂
Here is my personal website, that may have enough info to get you started
http://rochester.rr.com/jheaney1

9 Responses to ““A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step””

  1. Zack Says:

    Great quote…

    cool photo.

    -Zack

  2. Pramodh Says:

    i dont’ see a correlation between this post and photography ..
    excuse me for being blunt..

    Pramodh.

  3. Tony Says:

    The quote is from Lao-tzu, not Confucius…

  4. The Strange Tao of Blogs « Night Panther Says:

    […] gets the most hits, even 2 years later.  I happened to think of a quote from Confucius to name the post.  Little did I know that a steady stream of Internet users search Google for that quote every […]

  5. Suresh Gundappa Says:

    Great composition! I think you took thousand steps at once with this brilliant photo!

  6. Pauline Lewinson Says:

    I use this qoute all the time. I was about to use it in my blog, so I googled it because I could not remember the name of the author. Many people say it is Confucius but the author is Lao-tzu another Chinese guy.

    By the way, great picture. Keep taking those single steps.

    Pauline

  7. Keshav Saini Says:

    I have also used this qoute in my blog and then searched google for more explanation. Ultimately i landed here.

    So i think these qoutes are good way to get web traffic.

    Keshav

  8. Cate Dawson Says:

    Hmm, the author of that quote is debatable, depending on whether you believe that Lao Tzu was a real person. Many historians believe that he was actually just a mythical figure created from a sythesis of multiple prominant historical figures. If you choose to believe this, taking into account the lack of solid proof that Lao Tzu existed, it’s fair to say that Confucius may well have been the original author. Since there’s no real way to tell for sure, we should probably stop obsessing about the author and consider the sentiment in the quote instead. We’d probably gain much more out of it.

  9. website Says:

    Have you given any kind of thought at all with converting your web page in to Chinese? I know a couple of translaters right here that would help you do it for free if you want to get in touch with me personally.


Leave a Reply

